The first sowing

Outside, that is. Easter weekend finally found me prepping some of my garden beds for planting early crops – lettuce, cilantro, arugula, spinach, radishes, and peas. I’m planning on doing beets and carrots sometime in the next couple of week, too. As soon as I can get my hands on some potatoes and asparagus, those will go in the ground as well.

I covered my sown seeds with burlap. This helps me in a few different ways. It deters squirrels and other pests, it helps me keep an even level of moisture on the seeds, and it seems to help with fluctuating temperatures. The burlap came from Alterra Coffee – it was sitting on the curb outside of their Riverwest location and being that I’ve gotten free burlap from them before, I helped myself :).

No matter how many times I plant a seed, I always get nervous and hope that I’ve done it “right”. It still blows my mind that tiny little seeds grow into something green.

I’m really looking forward to my first homegrown salad, June peas, and crunchy radishes. We’re supposed to get a lot of rain this week and I’m hoping that, in combination with the warmer temperatures, I’ll be seeing some sprouts by next weekend.

One Comment to “The first sowing”

  1. Seed does work better if soaked as it softens the shell, (Some Seed is only viable after the heat of a fire cracks the seed’s shell) the other thing is that none of these plants do well when in the DIRT UNTIL THAT DIRT GETS TO 55 DEGREES Farenheight. in the outdoors, a starter bed in a basement or under a plastic or cloth cover. I have found that if you use a WATER BED HEATER under your starter trays, about the lowest setting is 55 F. Look for this heater @ Walmart.com $50. or best is free at, goodwill, salvation army,garage sales tell the store mgr you want all they get, they are water proof so won’t short out even if you burry them under your plants.

Leave a Reply

