A covered Sofa

I finally did it!

I love the “bones” of our sofa and loveseat – we got them for free from Jason’s parents when we moved in and I really like the simple shape. However, I was never wild about the color or design of the upholstery. You know me, I’m not a pastel or neutral shades type of girl :). I’ve been plotting to make a cover for both of them since we moved in, and figured that winter would be a good time to go for it.

Well, I was pretty intimidated by such a large project, and that intimidation led to procrastination. With the ground beginning to thaw, I realized that I NEEDED to get started on this or it wasn’t going to happen until next winter. I bought a huge canvas painter’s cloth for $18 and went at it. The back cushions were made from a pair of thrifted canvas curtains, and the pillows were covered in scraps I had in my stash.

And no, there’s is no tutorial. For pete’s sake, it was hard enough to sew the cover, much less photograph the process! No, actually, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It was time consuming, and I did have to rip out some seams and tighten up other. I think I spent about eight hours on the project, over a period of two weekends. Without taking my time into account, I didn’t pay more than $25 for a total sofa redo. Much better than buying a new one or even upholstering it.

I figured the smaller loveseat would be a more manageable jump into the slipcover world, so I still have to do the bigger sofa. I only used one painter’s canvas on the loveseat, but I’m estimating I’ll  need two for the sofa. Now that I have one piece of furniture covered, it does make the other ones look pretty shabby and sad! Oh well, there is always next winter to complete the task.

It’s not perfect, by any means. If you look closely you’ll see a couple of crooked seams, and some parts where the fit isn’t 100% tight on the frame. But I LOVE it. I’m darn proud of myself for taking on a big task and carrying it out. The best part is that the thing comes off and can be washed, if needed. A must for lighter-colored furniture ;).

One Comment to “A covered Sofa”

  1. I love this project you did. Amazing job!

Leave a Reply

