Planting for Pollinators

Did you know that honeybees are endangered. Well, they are. This is a pretty scary thing – pollinators play such a huge, important role in our world.

I’ve considered taking up beekeeping, but it seems a little bit daunting and – not gonna lie, I’m pretty creeped out by the thought of walking into a swarm of stinging insects. Maybe someday, when I get some education on the process and can ease my husband’s concerns of our neighbors loathing a new venture.

In the meantime, I’m focusing on planting flowers and shrubs that are attractive to pollinators. It was an eye-opener for me to realize that many of the annual flowers I like aren’t beneficial in that sense. However, it’s been a fun challenge to do research and figure out what flowers bees do tend to enjoy. This year, my garden will be decked out with lots of Lantana, lavender, sunflowers, and Alyssum. I’d also like to get a butterfly bush and some yarrow.

I kicked off my pollinator habit by purchasing a small monarda plant at Bayside Garden Center. It’s a workhorse – bees love it, you can cook with it, and it has medicinal properties. It also smells delicious when you brush up against it :).

Last year I grew blue Salvia in our kitchen window box, and the bees loved that as well. It was fun to sit at the kitchen table and watch them do their thing. While the Salvia got a little too tall and gangly for my taste, I am on the lookout for something a bit more compact that can take the southern exposure and will attract pollinators. Maybe some asters and marigolds. I’ll have to keep an eye out at the Berry Patch to see what plants the bees are drawn to.

2 Responses to “Planting for Pollinators”

  1. Reblogged this on Field Notes From Fatherhood and commented:
    I’ve never reblogged anything, but I really like the content of Little Home in the Big City, love their gardens, and wouldn’t mind getting them a bit of attention.

    Bees are in trouble, folks, and even though the EU’s recent continent-wide ban on neonicotinoid pesticides will probably help (I doubt the US will follow suit), anything that people can do to lend these vital pollinators a hand is most welcome. Have a look at this article, it may inspire you to plant some pollinator-friendly flowers. Cheers, Little Home!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

