Spray Paint Madness

Awhile ago, I blogged about our re-do of the front garden, along with the process of refinishing our garden swing. Progress on the swing was fairly slow – the weather was too cold for me to continue priming and painting it.

Well, we finally got some warm weather two weekends ago. I was able to finish priming the metal frame and apply two coats of the actual color, Paprika.

Jason had the bright idea to hang the pieces from the garage rafters so that I could get at all sides at once.

Please disregard our messy garage. Cleaning it is on our to-do list for this year…

It all worked out well, except that this method seemed much more conducive to me getting spray paint everywhere – on the floor, on my arm, in my hair, on the garden tools, even on my face. Most of it washed off ;).

The following Tuesday, we had temperatures in the high 70’s well into the evening. Wanting to take advantage of the weather, Jason and I sat out in the driveway and reassembled the bench. It took us awhile, but we were able to haul it to it’s final resting place and have a nice long “porch sit” as the sun went down in front of us and the world entered into dusk.

And here is the finished product. I took this photo the next morning. I’m really, really happy with how it turned out! I also love that we can sit in the front yard now. Unfortunately, these next couple of weeks are going to be so busy that I may not have many moments to enjoy a good sit. Hopefully when we head into summer we’ll be able to do that more.

For reference, here is an idea of what it looked like before. Sorry I don’t have a more “complete” photo of it. I think you’ll agree, the new colors and boards are a big improvement!

 

Leave a Reply

