Thrifty Gardening

It’s rummage sale time throughout the area! The other day, lots of homes in my suburban work neighborhood were having rummage sales. I happened to have a few dollars on me (normally, I never carry cash) so I took a walk on my lunch break and ended up scoring three bundles of green wire fencing for only $2.

This stuff is always handy to have around for fencing in vulnerable plants or giving vines something to climb with. So far, I’ve used a few feet of it to make an arbor for my Parisian Pickling cukes and a simple trellis for my one slicing cuke. I’d like to move the strawberry bed from the back of the yard to the main gardening area, and when I do that I’ll also be fencing it in – the bunnies seem to wreak havoc on them. I’ll also need some supports for my melons and pumpkins when the time comes. Obviously, this stuff will get a lot of use in my yard for only $2!

Leave a Reply

