Magical Melons

This year, for the first time, I attempted to grow two varieties of musk melons: Minnesota Midget and Collective Farm Woman. I would say both have been a success so far.

I ate the first Minnesota Midget variety over Labor Day weekend. The one that I harvested was ripe and a little on the small side – about the size of an apple. I wish I had taken a photo, but I was too anxious to cut it open and see what it tasted like! It had to be the cutest melon I’ve ever eaten.

The flavor was good – not amazing, but certainly good. Given how easy they were to grow, I think I would give them another go around. They would be especially fun if you have kids at home who want to grow a plant of their own. Maybe if I’m still involved in the community garden next year, I’ll start some of these for a kid’s plot.

Leave a Reply

