An Ode to the Ripe Scent of Fish Emulsion

This isn’t really any sort of ode, but I couldn’t think of a more appropriate title for my first blog post in almost a year. And I do actually smell like fish emulsion from my garden’s weekly drench.

When we parted last, I was six months pregnant. Well, obviously, I’m no longer pregnant. I’m almost six months past being pregnant, in fact. And here is what I have to show for it:

Finn loved the magnolia tree.

Finavaire Andrea came roaring into our family right on her due date, November 26. You can read her birth story here. She is absolutely amazing. We call her Finn. I never knew what a paradigm shift having a child could be, or how within mothering there exists a strange dichotomy of wanting to spend every breathing moment in all of the cuddling/giggling/facemaking/dancing that comes with the territory and yet feeling so blissfully liberated after laying her down to sleep for the night. It’s weird. Weird and really wonderful.

As if child-rearing wasn’t enough for me, Boo and I made the decision as a family that I wouldn’t be returning to my church secretary job after Finn’s birth. Instead, I finally put my big girl pants on and did something that I’ve talked about for years: I enrolled in a local technical school’s horticulture program. My last class of my first semester took place on Wednesday, which explains the fact that I actually have a few spare minutes to blog.

Obviously, there is quite a bit I could unpack about everything I’ve shared thus far, but my hope is that I will be able to blog regularly, at least for the summer, and be able to unpack things in smaller pieces instead of dumping them in piles before your curious eyes. In the meantime, I will tentatively say that it’s good to be back. I’ll also leave you with a photo of what my vegetable garden looks like, because I’m really quite pleased with how it’s shaping up.

Got more than halfway done. We need another load of mulch and more newspapers to finish, but I'm already in love with how it's turning out.

Be still, my circular-loving heart.

Leave a Reply

